Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So I'm a newbie and I having some questions on braking. Mainly, I think I take too long to slow down.

What I've been doing is mainly engine braking for everything except for hard stops. I'm still not great at it yet (I'll still jolt a bit from blipping the throttle too much). But my slow down routine is generally:

1) Let off throttle
2) Downshift (once deceleration from letting off throttle stops becoming noticeable)
3) Repeat

If I have to come to a complete stop, I will brake after downshifting from second. I never really touch the brakes unless I am intending to stop.

My question is: Is this good practice? Will I eventually be able to do this fast enough (with enough practice) or should I switch to a different "slowing down" technique.

Like I said, my concern is that this isn't fast enough in certain situations. For example, to go from 40 mph to 20 mph (to make a left turn), I usually need about 200 feet of "prep" beforehand and I feel this is too much. And I don't if it is because of bad technique or just inexperience.

Luckily, I've never really been in a situation where I had to do something fast but it leaves me a bit paranoid that I might not be able to if the situation occurs. What if 50 mph traffic drops quickly to 30 mph traffic? Or should I not be in that situation because I should have been paying attention?

If any of you disagree with my technique, please share how you slow down. And I know its second nature to you, but please be specific about what you do (I'm still new so it is not second nature to me!)

·
Registered
1,068 Posts
there's a school of thought that advises against engine braking in general. The logic is that brake pads are cheaper than a clutch and easier to replace. Personally I'm not against engine braking when you're idling down to a long slow stop.