Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 72 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2007 with only 10,000 miles and wondering what I can expect out of it. It is never 'abused' as those days are over for me. I was an auto tech for about 17 years so I know the importance of proper maintenance.

·
Registered
48 Posts
Just crossed the 10,000 mile mark on my '12 Classic. No problems and just scheduled maintenance. Still on OEM tires too.

·
Registered
536 Posts
07 Classic with 23,700 miles....replaced a stator at 22,500 and a throttle cable so now ready for another 50K. There is a guy on here that recently went over the 200,000 mile mark with normal maintenance and still going. There is a good chance that you will need a stator within the first 30,000 miles on your 07 so be ready for that but otherwise just ride the wheels off it and change your oil and air filter.

·
Registered
164 Posts
12500 On my "07" 900 C. Replaced throttle cables and then, about two years later (2014) , replaced the original tires with Michelin Commander
II's and the OEM stator at 11000 miles, with a Rick,s stator. I also added the Kuryakin Volt Meter for, hopefully, a warning should something be failing with the charging system. This bike really runs well. I couldn't be happier. :)

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Okay so I have many years to go on my 900. My only concern is getting stuck somewhere when the stator goes bad. It seems anytime after 10k mile, you never know when it's going to go. Seems like pretty low miles to have such a component go bad.

·
Registered
536 Posts
Vulcan 900...its mostly the 06's and 07's but any stator can fail. I was considering doing mine before it failed since it is not that big a job but before I could order one it went out. I'm glad it did since now I don't have to worry about it when I'm on a road trip. The Ricks stators are supposed to be good for a long time.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #10