Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 1996 1500l VN1500C, my front is a bit mushy and I'd like to change the fork oil. I'm new to this Vulcan, and my manual isn't very descriptive. Can anyone help me and give me directions? Thanks.

·
Registered
49 Posts
Jack / block the bike up so that it stands upright, and the front wheel is four inches or so off the floor.

If you look at the top of the fork tube, you should see a plastic chrome cover. Slip a knife edge under the cap and carefully pry it off. Look in the top of the tube, and you should see a gold-ish colored steel plug with an indent in the middle. You need to push down on that plug with a punch or screwhdriver and peel the wire retainer out of the groove. It's kind of a three handed ordeal, but it's a lot easier to do with the fork tubes still mounted on the bike. The plug is going to be under spring tension, it won't shoot off and implant itself in your forehead or anything, but you don't want to launch it. Set the plug and wire retainer aside, don't loose them. Repeat for the other tube.

Unscrew the speedometer cable nut from the speedometer drive and remove the center cable thing (not sure what its proper name is), set it aside where it will stay clean and undamaged. Remove the front wheel (let me know if you need detailed help with any of these steps), don't lose the spacer on the left side. and don't drop the speedometer drive. You might have to move the wheel around a bit to spread the brake discs and allow the disc to drop out of the brake.

Unbolt the brake caliper and tie it up with a piece of twine. Don't let it dangle from the brake line.

Unbolt the front fender and drop it straight down. Set it aside.