Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, I just bought my 2000 Vulcan 800 Classic, had someone ride it home from the dealer as I'm brand new at this and it was 2 hours away, sat for about a week as i got my endorsement and now since I've been riding it, the coolant seems to be boiling out of the overflow hose and white steam (I'm assuming) is also coming from the hose. When I'm riding it there's no issue, at stop lights no issue, but if it idles for more than 5-10 minutes it starts steaming and dripping out of the little hose on the bottom right of the bike near the exhaust. The radiator hoses seem to be pretty firm and hot. The top of the radiator is definitely cold and the bottom is pretty warm, as in too hot to touch for more than about 5 seconds. Its not getting to overheating temperature, to where the light kicks on, no matter how long it idles it just steams out and drips all of the coolant from the reservoir. The levels are correct and i thought it may be that the fan was turning on however,
I had raised the idle speed pretty high to where the engine temp light kicked on, which DID trigger the fan, but at normal idle its not "overheating " and the fan never kicks on. Any idea what could be causing this? I have some mechanical knowledge from cars but not much otherwise. Im starting to think either the radiator is clogged, the cap isnt building pressure all the way, or the thermostats busted, but im not sure where to start in part replacements. Or could it be the water pump.
PS: i verified theres no coolant in the oil and no oil in the coolant.

PPS: also noticed the fan switch things/terminals are on the top of the radiator instead of the bottom where they seem to be on most of the videos i found of the Vulcans but that couldbe a model/year difference

·
Registered
707 Posts
You posted this -