Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a noob. I borrowed a friend's helmet. Now I'm torn between spending more on a nice helmet and use it til it's not safe anymore, or getting a less expensive (that doesn't mean less safe) helmet for the summer while I practice at slower speeds. Then get the nicer one when I'm more confident at higher speeds (maybe next summer while looking out for deals this fall), using the first helmet for passengers someday. What do you think?

I previously posted this in the wrong forum, sorry for the double post.

·
Registered
4,477 Posts
If it's DOT approved use it. Regardless of $ the standard is the standard. Now cosmetics are our option. Revolvers, shields, graphics, bluetooth all add cost without changing the compliance to the standard. Just never ride without it. Enjoy and Ride Safe!

·
Registered
643 Posts
Bear's got it right. A $70 dollar helmet saved my life. I've got a $90 bell FF that is very nice, comfy, and DOT and I've got a Bell Mag 8 3/4 that is also very nice (old school look) DOT and cost only $50.

·
Registered
537 Posts
I use a "SKULL KRUSH" carbon fiber shorty lid and love it ! DOT KAN KMA ! I have a full selection of other DOT helmets and they are too heavy and uncomfortable, I don't use them.

·
Registered
102 Posts
If it's DOT approved use it. Regardless of $ the standard is the standard. Now cosmetics are our option. Revolvers, shields, graphics, bluetooth all add cost without changing the compliance to the standard. Just never ride without it. Enjoy and Ride Safe!
second that,I use a skid lid half helmet polycabonate.comp.best all day wearing lid I ever owned, not exspensive but d.o.t approved!!!:cool:

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Pricier does not equal a safer helmet. Just better ventilation (maybe), quieter (maybe), better graphics and longer lasting fittings. Worth it?