Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
165 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I've been riding for over 15 years and have always, ALWAYS ridden with a helmet, almost always a full-face. I've owned multiple Bell, HJC, Shoei, Arai (my current), and Z1R models. And I can't get a perfect fit from anything.

Circumference is 56.5cm, right between most makers' small and medium. Length is 19.5cm, width is 15cm (that's calipered, not over the dome). Nobody can tell me if I'm round, intermediate, or long oval. "Try them all on" is the most common advice, and ain't nobody got time to try on hundreds of different models for 30 minutes each. Intermediates like my Defiant leave gaps at the temples. Longs like my previous Signet-Q clamp my temples even after removing the peel-aways. Rounds like my old Quantum and HJCs clamp my forehead and occipital ridge.

Anyone got any useful advice for a mutant with a weird head?

·
Registered
1,111 Posts
Take a tie-down strap to your head and ratchet it till it hurts.

Smear KY jelly all around your head.

Walk.

Take a jig saw and cut out the helmet where it hurts.

Remove your ears so there will be less pressure on the sides.

Or keep trying on helmets, I guess. :) (Its the price you pay for living in Arizona but using Metric system measurements. Hey! Maybe that's the answer! Buy helmets measured in inches instead of that foreign stuff.)

·
END OF YEAR BIKE 2018 Winner
862 Posts
I read your post and did a little research. From your post it definitely seems like you've done your fitment correct according to what I found. And yep, you fall in-between small and medium.

I know there are some makers that offer different pads to adjust for specific detailed fitment. Some sellers offer a replacement if it doesn't fit correctly after the sale.

From my past experience most shops that sell helmets are only basically trained in fitting a helmet. I believe that you need someone properly trained in fitment technique.