Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,467 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How long does your headlight (low beam) bulb last? Seems like I just replaced this thing late last summer (maybe 10K mi. ago). It's not that it's expensive (it's not), just a hassle. My life is so hard.

·
Registered
4,477 Posts
Ride a bunch of rough roads? Incandescent bulbs are susceptible to filament breakage as they age. They don't take well to jars, bumps and vibrations as they age. Also if you ride in colder climates the heat cool cycle/ thermal shock will shorten lamp life.
I've been running an 80/100 NAPA lamp for over two years, with a modulator, and over 10K without an issue. I do carry a spare for that moment when I'm out at night and it blows. I don't like being stranded nor riding in the dark without a headlamp.

·
Registered
2,985 Posts
How long does your headlight (low beam) bulb last? Seems like I just replaced this thing late last summer (maybe 10K mi. ago). It's not that it's expensive (it's not), just a hassle. My life is so hard.
The low beam in my VN2K went out at around 10k too.

·
Registered
1,467 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Now here's a twist: I changed the bulb, and then neither the high nor low worked. The fuse had blown. I know it wasn't blown before, cuz I had spent the previous evening and the trip to the bulb store using the high beam. Changed the fuse and now all is well.

·
Registered
408 Posts
I only have around 6K on my VN2000 and ride mostly during the day which I usually leave the high beam on for, given these circumstances I suspect it will last for a very long time. The only caveat to that being several of the roads up here on the rust coast are either poorly maintained or not maintained making for a rather jolting ride at times.

·
Registered
1,467 Posts
Discussion Starter #7