Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, not only I'm a new vulcan owner, I'm totally new to riding (3 months). I have been experiencing a weird shifting issue which I don't know if its a problem or just something to get use to. Sometimes while riding, the clutch seems hard to shift. It doesn't slip or not go into gear, but it seems like it takes more effort. Usually I will notice this after riding a while, especially with stop and go traffic. Shifting starts out smooth, but then it seems a little more rough, as if I can feel the clutch moving up to two clicks to get to gear. Down shifting isn't really a problem since I'm stepping on the clutch, but up-shifting just feels weird. I thought it was my foot position on the pegs but changing positions doesnt matter. The stranger thing is that after sometime it may get smooth again. i dont do very long trips as i mostly commute under ten miles, but i don have NYC traffic to deal with. Don't know what to think of this. Any thoughts?
Thanks
Terrance

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

·
Registered
1,068 Posts
Assuming you mean "shift lever" when you say "clutch"...

900 transmissions are pretty chunky on the whole. Straight-cut gears do tend to be noisy and give a solid "thunk" from gear to gear.

However, even with that in mind, I'd check the clutch lever freeplay. If it's too loose, the clutch may not be engaging all the way when you pull in the lever. There's a rundown on the procedure in your owners manual, and if you don't have one, you can download one at the Kawasaki website.

·
Registered
295 Posts