Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
2,988 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm pretty new to V twins and don't have a tach on my 2008 V2K. For years I've driven a Suzuki rocket with 12,000 RPM redline and max power at 10,000 RPM so I'm use to not paying much attention to shifting unit she's really screaming.

Anyone have a chart, or at least could give me some numbers on gear selection vs indicated mph and engine RPM for the V2K just to give me some idea of what's going on in that regard?

I know it's asking a lot, but perhaps a few different MPH vs RPM in each gear would be really great!

·
Registered
900 Posts

·
Registered
2,988 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Yes, I have the recommended shift vs mph speed chart, but I'd really like to know more about gear vs. mph vs. engine RPM.

·
Registered
2,988 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
Yeah, but 4000 RPM on this one is quite a bit different than 4000 on the Suzuki. I know what 4000 RPM is and sounds like on the Suzuki, I have no clue on this Vulcan.

Attached is an engine RPM vs Gear vs theoretical MPH table I whipped up. Note the speeds would be theoretical true speed not factoring the ~10% error that seems to be present in the V2K speedo.

Perhaps it would be easier if someone could spot check a few points on the chart to see how close it is (remember speedometer error)?

Attachments

·
wocka, wocka, wocka
5,618 Posts
what is this, the no spin zone?

Just ride it.......They like rpm......have a blast.....Just ask Ponch........:)
taz'er, huh? you need a tach for proper answer to this question. got one?

wru has the gear ratio spread sheet, factor in speedo error and some clutch slippage for wind resistance at speed.

tho these motors can spin up 5k, its not in thier best interest for any kind of long life. those massive pistons and this is a undersquare stroker motor will self destruct if repeated/sustained putting the hammer down.