Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie - I recently bought a 2010 Vulcan Classic. I would like to hear some of the experienced Vulcan owners' thoughts on gas? I know in a carbureted world, the higher the octane the better. How about with a Fuel Injected Vulcan?

I know on some cars, the fuel injection systems are set up specifically for regular unleaded and using premium gas can actually damage your engine or at least provide less than optimal performance.

So what is the best gas to use in my bike? I have no problem spending a few more dollars at the pump but I also don't want to use the wrong gas.

Thanks!

·
Registered
415 Posts
Most decisions about our bikes are purely personal choices that make us feel better about our rides. For me, i want to feel i'm giving it a little better life by using the middle grade gas rather than the lowest octane, this is not a scientific reason, nor our most of my decisions i make in life, i use a K&N oil and air filter, only because it makes me 'feel' like i'm taking better care of my ride and hence it will of me.....ride on...

·
Registered
761 Posts
87 octane in the Vulcan 900's if that's what you have.

·
Registered
51 Posts
I use 93 octane in both Vulcans and my Spyder. FI bikes tend to run lean and I have always felt the little extra boost was worth it.

·
Registered
51 Posts
I have a 2009 1700 Classic. I run 93 with every tank & add SeaFoam when put in storage for the winter. Im not saying that my approach is the best.........just, thats what I use and im happy with the results.

·
Registered
7,620 Posts
Use at least what the manual recommends. And keep in mind if your particular manual uses "RON", and you're in the United States, it's a little high. Meaning if it says "Min 91 RON", it's equivalent to a minimum of 87 R+M/2 that you'd find here in the US and some other countries.