Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys.... I'm new to the VN800. Is it normal to have a smell of gas around the bike? I assume not. I'm kinda used to it from having emgo pods on top of the carbs on my V-Star I used to own, but this is stock. Nothing is leaking and I took the carb apart and cleaned it last Friday. I think the air filter might have got gas in it at some point... Maybe just replacing that will make it go away?

·
Registered
1,111 Posts
Yeah, its fairly normal. Nothing INTENSE though, just faint gas smell sometimes.

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
No, this is pretty intense. I can't park it in the garage or the whole garage reeks of gas. But I don't see anything leaking anywhere.... ???

·
Registered
1,111 Posts
Well, then I suggest that you closely inspect it when it really smells bad. Don't forget to look in the exhausts. How much gas is in the tank? Are there any other gas powered vehicles in the garage that could be the source? How about other containers of gas in the garage?

Might want to place some sort of cardboard (or what-have-you) underneath it. The idea is that its something that would dis-color should gas drop down on it.

It could still be just normal venting. As for really intense smells, could it be your sensitivity to gas is high? My wife and granddaughter can smell all sorts of stuff that I can't. They complain about stuff that, to me, is barely noticeable.

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #6 (Edited)