Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys maybe you can help me out. i am new to the motorcycle and am wondering why gas was leaking from my exhaust i havent started it since last friday an parked it in the garage an i pulled it out today to crank it up an could smell gas an i got down an check an seen gas dripping from my pipes. dont know what has caused this an really need to know i wanna ride my bike.

D

·
0 Posts
My 800 did that too. It was the fuel valve on the tank. It's vacuum controlled so it opens automatically when you start your bike. It's supposed to be a positive shut off when you kill the motor. The O rings wear and then it leaks.
I put a Pingel on mine after replacing the O ring once and having it leak again. I don't know how the Pingel will work out cuz the ground is still under two feet of snow here. We'll see in the Spring.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ok I fixed that problem now I have a leak a mixture of gas an oil under the bike an white smoke came out of my pipes. If anyone could help me out that would be great someone said to put premium gas in it. Will that fix my problem?

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
An if it is how do I fix it man I really wanna ride my bike I passed the MSF course yesterday an I am jonesn

D

·
0 Posts
D

·
0 Posts
What's your fuel tap set to? You have Prime, Reserve and On. If it's on Prime you're dumping gas down the carb. That makes the float bowl overflow and that gas runs into to cylinders. It will either leak past the piston rings and dilute your oil or run out the exhaust valves, down the pipes and onto the ground. Or both, which is most likely.
Pull the oil filler cap and take a good whiff, if you smell gas you've got trouble.

D

·
0 Posts
About directly above the oil fill cap, on the bottom on the gas tank you'll see this doodad