Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
337 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
VN 900 Custom.

I removed my fuel tank a few months ago to change the spark plugs.

Ever since then, my fuel warning 'empty' LED does not turn on when very low (and needs re-fueling) plus the fuel gauge does not accurately show fuel volume any more.

Obviously I have done something to upset this and would like some help to identify and rectify this fault.

I want to operate over the next 2 days and kindly ask for any assistance in this matter.

Romper

·
Premium Member
114 Posts
Hi Romper,
I have no experience with the problem you have,But have you tried retracing what you have done and had a good look around the harness at the front of the tank to see if there is a bad connection now,Or damaged wires?

·
Registered
19 Posts
I suspect that you missed reconnecting the two pin fuel level sensor. Its located far forward at the neck, just under the tank.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Screenshot_2015-04-24-07-48-25.jpg
Here is the location. Make sure the connection was properly fastened. If it was, then as Jason said, inspect for damage to the wires, and connection pins.

·
Registered
847 Posts
I am old school and seldom look at the fuel gauge. I look at the mileage like I had to on the older bikles before the gauge. I can go 180 easily and still leave enough fuel in the tank to cool the pump, which is important.

·
Registered
357 Posts
I am old school and seldom look at the fuel gauge. I look at the mileage like I had to on the older bikles before the gauge. I can go 180 easily and still leave enough fuel in the tank to cool the pump, which is important.
I used to be that way. Just ride till the bike started to sputter and switch to reserve then fill up in the next 30-40 miles. Can't do that any more. lol I can go 160-170 with my current setup before the light comes on.

·
Registered
7,620 Posts