Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've purchased a 05 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 mean streak with 8k miles that had sat for a while and it had a bad fuel pump. I replaced the pump, charged the battery and started it. It sounded pretty rough, I reached down and felt the exhaust, front was cold, rear was hot. Checked for spark the old fashioned idiot way as I don't have a spark tester or meter and it seems to be getting spark on all plugs. I'm stumped. Also, I'm not sure if this is normal, but each coil is wired with one plug on its side of the bike and the other plug going to the opposite side. Ex. Left coil wired to left rear, right front. Right coil right rear, left front. I'm completely new to kawi and efi bikes. I assumed if each coil is feeding a plug on both cylinders, if one coil was bad it would still fire both? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Likely not a spark problem. Something in fuel management. Below is link to a service manual that may help troubleshoot DFI. Study page 30 & make sure all hoses are connected properly.

http://www.kawasaki-customs.com/modeles-kawasaki/1500meanstreak-kawasaki-customs/VN1500.pdf

Verified spark again just to be safe. You were right, fuel problem. Pulled the plug and turned it over a few times. Rear injector is working fine, front injector is dry. Bad news is one of the screws is stripped out. I put some pen oil on it and I'll try later, I'm not risking stripping out a screw that's halfway there already. Oddly though, the air the piston was forcing out the spark plug hole was hot. Any idea why? Should be cold considering no fuel to burn right?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5