Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys, I need your help.
I've been riding my new VN 900 2010 for a month now. So Far I have around 550 KM (342 Miles). The specs advice to do the first maintenance at 1000KM (600 Miles).

The thing is that next weekend, I'm going to Laconia NH (Motorweek). The distance from MTL to Laconia it's about 425 KM (265 Miles). I'll be doing about the same distance each day (for 3 days). So Should I do my service before going there, even if I'm far from the 1000 KM or I do it when I'll come back?

Please advice,, I'm new at this!

·
Registered
1,158 Posts
I was in the same boat. On the one hand.....one would like to break the bike in....get that first oil out...and then service. On the other hand, changing the oil too quick and the bike hasn't properly broken in....my solution? I took the bike out and rode the heck out of it before my trip....got close to the 1000 mark, did the service and all was well. If that isn't an option, I'd change oil before I went well over the 1000 mark, Christ knows WHAT they use as break-in oil...lmao.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I was in the same boat. On the one hand.....one would like to break the bike in....get that first oil out...and then service. On the other hand, changing the oil too quick and the bike hasn't properly broken in....my solution? I took the bike out and rode the heck out of it before my trip....got close to the 1000 mark, did the service and all was well. If that isn't an option, I'd change oil before I went well over the 1000 mark, Christ knows WHAT they use as break-in oil...lmao.
Yeah... I'm trying to ride as much as possible...before the oil change... if Only the weather could be on my side... :(

What worries me is that If I dont do the first maintenance before the 1000 KM, they might use that as a reason not to respect the warranty....

·
Registered
1,158 Posts