Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hopefully I can explain this correctly.

I notice that when I hold the clutch in on first gear (engine off), I feel some 'mechanical' resistance as if the clutch plates are not 'squeezed in' all the way. I first noticed this when the engine is off and I tried to just put it on first gear so the bike doesn't accidentally roll similar to a car with a manual transmission.

I was assuming that when you squeeze and hold the clutch in the rear wheel should be free just as if it were in neutral.

Do I need to adjust the clutch cable? Or is this normal?

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Also when the engine is running and on first gear, the bike doesn't lurch or move forward until I start to let out the clutch. So it seems normal when I accelerate.

·
Registered
1,342 Posts
I won't say it's normal because I'm not an expert, but my'07 Custom has always felt like the clutch is slightly engaged when the lever's pulled all the way in. It's harder to push around using the clutch than it is in neutral. I think it has to do with the fact that it's a wet clutch, but I don't know exactly. I will say this: if I start the bike in first gear I feel a soft surge forward when the engine starts to roll. But NOT if I roll the bike forward or back before I hit the starter. I'm only talking about 5 or 6 inches of road here, not pushing it down the driveway. My best guess is that the plates stay so close that the oil sticks them together. Once that oil-bond is broken everything spins freely.

·
Registered
3,029 Posts
It's harder to push around using the clutch than it is in neutral. I think it has to do with the fact that it's a wet clutch, but I don't know exactly.