Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
260 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm not sure what changed, but starting sometime yesterday the site started to load extremely slow for me. Any page I load (including thread pages, switching boards,etc) the sponsors sidebar loads about one ad every half second, so it's a total of about 3-5 seconds of loading the sidebar and then everything else pops in. That never happened before for me and it's very annoying. Any page I navigate to ends up taking 5+ seconds to load when I'm on broadband and was able to load any page in under half a second before yesterday.

·
Registered
7,620 Posts
Is the issue still persisting or is it working faster now?

If it's still slow, are other websites doing the same?

·
Registered
260 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
I'm a web designer myself actually. No I haven't added anything, and no it isn't happening anywhere else. It's specifically happening in a 'loop' fashion when the sponsors and left side ads are displayed. It flickers and flashes as the sponsor images are loaded one by one.

It feels like, to me, that there is a loop going on that is running new HTTP requests for each ad (through an adservice I'm sure). It feels like that is delaying the rest of the page loading. It's loading 'synchronously' instead of 'asynchronously'. It prevents data from the rest of the site from loading while it cycles through trying to load all the sponsors and ads. If it was loading asynchronously, it would load everything at once and the ads would show up when they're downloaded.

Not sure what to make of it.