Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
While tinkering with my Fi2000r I started noticing a sound. It only happens when the throttle is almost completely backed off. Almost like a constant low pitched farting sound. I don't know how to describe it any better than that.

·
Registered
224 Posts
I have Hard Krome pipes on mine and mine does the same thing when slowing down but still have just a hair bit of throttle on.....just the pipes. Air/fuel mixture will cause different sounds,I'm no expert but just experienced it myself. Maybe a youtube video will help diagnose the "problem" if there is one

·
Registered
1,159 Posts
What kind of baffles (if any) do you have? I went from stock to Cobras with standard baffles (right, below) and got some noise just above idle like that. The bike also reeked of gas everywhere I went. When I switched to quiet core baffles (left, below) those problems went away. I'm no engineer but as mentioned it may have something to do with the mixture and change in backpressure. Maybe.

·
Registered
1,158 Posts
When I had my idle turned down to low......i had a low brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr sound....I made several posts about it way back when. It was like the ecu was trying to dial in the lower idle settings......low pitch brrrrrrrrrrrrrr...then it would kick out. Adjusted idle, and it went away.
Checked out your vids........it's why the HK'S ARE my fave pipes. Man what a sound. Our 9 was made for those pipes. Makes the bike sound more like a Harley than a Harley does...lol (please don't read ANYTHING into that).....lol.

·
Premium Member
1,130 Posts
While tinkering with my Fi2000r I started noticing a sound. It only happens when the throttle is almost completely backed off. Almost like a constant low pitched farting sound. I don't know how to describe it any better than that.