Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I am new to this. I have a 2008 Vulcan 900 classic B. It has the stock exhaust. Can I change just mufflers or do I need a whole new exhaust. I want a different sound. Also, where can I get good parts and accessories cheap

·
Registered
169 Posts
Keep the stock exhaust - unless it is damaged or rusted. You will need to buy a whole new system.

·
Registered
169 Posts
Stock is better than any aftermarket exhaust you can buy!!!

·
Registered
1,566 Posts
Search the forum for "debaffle" and you'll find a lot of information on altering the stock pipes to change the sound. Keep in mind that when you do this, you're making irreversible change to about $1500 dollars worth of stock parts. I think what Biebs was referring to is the fact that a large number of riders on this forum changed to after market exhaust systems, then went back to stock because it was too loud to ride.

·
Registered
81 Posts
I put Cobra Dragsters on my 900, and they're OK, but wished I had put Vance & Hines on it like I did my 1600. They had a better tone. I don't think after market pipes are too loud at all. Maybe I'm deaf? :)

·
Registered
17 Posts
I have debaffled mine. It sounds like s**t. But I can't stand the 6ft long bazookas that Kawi put on.
Check out Baron's Hack n Slash mufflers. They are straight thru slip-ons. Baron's include instructions where to cut your head pipes and how to mount the mufflers. Its a FAR cheaper option then getting full pipes. This is the route I'm taking this winter. I just can't justify spending $500+ for Cobras or V&H. That's money spent elsewhere on the bike.

·
Registered
'05 800B
1,418 Posts