Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, I recently purchased a 2009 Nomad, after a few miles of riding I received a code on the message center.
That says err 11 after some research I found that it is a throttle position sensor. My question is, does the sensor need to be replaced or is there something else that might be causing this? The bike only has 8200 miles on it. I am new to the nomad have been riding an 89 goldwing. Any thoughts or comments would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

·
Registered
314 Posts
There is a test procedure for the throttle position sensor in the Nomad shop manual beginning on page 3-42. If you don't have the manual PM me and I'll try to help you out.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Awesome, Thank You. I will look it up and see what I can get done. On another note i was cleaning the throttle body last night, and noticed that with the throttle wide open the butterflies on the the throttle body were only about a quarter of the way open. Would that be the result of the TPS or is that normal on the nomad?

·
Registered
314 Posts
I went and pulled the cover off mine. The butterflies open fully with ignition on and throttle twisted wide open (engine not running). As to whether or not it's related to the TPS error, I don't know but it would sure be suspect.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Do you know if the TPS can be replaced or do you have to replace the complete throttle body assembly? In the service manual it never says anything about replacing the sensor it says to replace the throttle body assembly, the ecu or the wiring harness. Have you had the Ivan flash done on your 1700?

·
Registered
314 Posts