Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1,158 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, My bike ticks...fine....always did, always will. I don't care anymore.
First thing in the morning, no tick....ride, shut down, start back up...ticks. Happens EVERY time. Bike needs to get warm first, never happens till I shut it down....then restart while it's warm. WHY? ANYONE have an answer? Only EVER happens when the bike gets warm....and I shut it off (to get gas etc...)...then restart. I could ride it for ten hours...no tick. Soon as I restart...tick. I see videos posted, forum postings, talk about it....but never, NEVER, A MECHANICAL answer.
Thanks and best regards...SH.

·
Registered
2,098 Posts
I'm not a mechanic... I'm guessing!

The engine is running splashing oil all over the place like it is supposed to. You turn it off and oil settles. Makes sense that when you restart, you are hearing metal on metal. Not a bad thing, but a likely cause of tick. I always ignore it. It is a machine. If I want quiet, I'll buy one those electric bikes.

·
Registered
140 Posts
I feel you... noises from motors drive me insane....! :skeleton:

I don't think you are going to get closure on here as to what it is but I am curious to see what folks say...

·
Registered
399 Posts
Are we still doing this thread? They tick its kawi. Regardless they all tick. No one has ever had a mechanical fail because of it. Enjoy it. I love the sound of a motor.

Sent from my PG06100 using Motorcycle.com Free App

·
Registered
365 Posts
I'd like to know as well. TONS of engines have failed with what started as a "tick", I wish my bike didn't have what sounds like the first symtom of a dying engine.

·
Registered
399 Posts
I'd like to know as well. TONS of engines have failed with what started as a "tick", I wish my bike didn't have what sounds like the first symtom of a dying engine.
Motorcycle engines crank harder then car motors. Car tick is different then cycle tick.