Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Premium Member
287 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know this is likely to be controversial and your mileage may vary, yada, yada yada. But ...

I've been struggling with my impressions after my first relatively long ride on my Classic 900. First, a little background on how I got to where I am at. I am new to motorcycling and absolutely loved my first bike (Honda Shadow VT600C). It was a great bike to cut my teeth and was perfect for going on trips 30 - 50 miles from town. Rides on that bike were a blast, but I knew I wanted something more in terms of power, handling, and a bigger gas tank that didn't have me filling up every 75 miles. I did a ton of research and got the Vulcan. Great bike and even better than the Shadow for what I liked to do. But I also wanted to do some longer rides --- day trips, over-nighters, long weekends, etc.

Well, after doing a reasonable 3/4 day trip I can say that I am still wanting for a better experience. For me, unless I am puttsing around the back roads with no particular itinerary in mind, I am a point A to point B type of personality. I want to get to where I want to be as quickly as possible. Yes, my family just _loves_ to go on road trips with me driving. :rolleyes: And that was the problem with my trip this past weekend. Sure, most of the ride was fairly leisurely as a group of us made our way to Tombstone and then on to Bisbee, AZ and the surrounding area, but the trip back had me thinking in point A - point B mode. I admit that taking more stops and smelling the roses would have made the trip back a little more comfortable, but I also did more interstate on the way back. So I was uncomfortable, riding at speed (>75) and thinking about just getting home. That was the first time - EVER - that I was looking forward to ending a ride.