Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I want to preface this by saying that I am brand new to motorcycles. I rode my friends 94 CBR600 around a parking lot and thats it. Otherwise my powersports experiences come from ATVs and sxs. I apologize if my questions are very basic. I have been trying to educate myself.

I am looking at 3 bikes as possible first bikes. The shadow aero, the vulcan s, and the vulcan 900. I am hoping to get some advice from more experienced riders to narrow down my choice. Right now I am leaning Shadow or 900 custom. (mainly because I prefer the vtwin sound)
I am not trying to go fast. I just want to lay back and enjoy riding. I do want enough power to merge and pass safely but anything over that is just a bonus.

1. Is a vulcan (either an S or a 900) a good first bike?

2. Will the vulcan (s or 900) reasonably haul a 350 lb dude on the highway?

3. Will the vulcan fit a 6'2 guy well? I think ive read that the custom does not have the adjustable seat or foot pegs.

4. How much maintenance does the chain drive need?

5. What is a reasonable lifespan to expect out of a vulcan? is it like 30k miles, 50k etc?

6. What sort of gas mileage does one typically get?

·
Super Moderator
5,343 Posts
Welcome to the forum from North Carolina. The S and the Shadow are too small for you. For your height and weight the 900 would be the best bike of the three. It has 50hp so it’s no speed demon but it is a proven model with good parts and accessory availability. They are also an inexpensive bike. Gets 45-50 mpg. Clean belt drive and fuel injection which are pluses.