Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited by Moderator)
Looks like I'll be getting a Vulcan S, hopefully sometime soon. I want to use it mainly for commuting to work (about 30 min away in a rural setting to a small town).

I'm a professional photographer and often get called out on small assignments where I need to bring a bit of gear and hoping I can do this on the bike. I have a very good backpack that holds my camera gear - 35-45lbs in total, plus a tripod. The tripod can strap to the backpack if needed.

My question is, am I better off wearing the backpack or strapping it to the bike (rear carrier I'm assuming). I won't be doing this until I'm more comfortable with the bike, but I'm guessing that wearing the pack with 40ish extra lbs might throw off my balance more than strapping it to the bike itself.

Comments?

·
Registered
103 Posts
If it was me I would strap it to the bike. I used to wear a backpack to carry my clothes for work and mu lunch. Now it wasn't 40lbs. It was still bulky. Now I have saddle bags to carry and it feels much better being off my back.

·
Registered
4 Posts
You want to secure it to the motorcycle somehow. Riding with a backpack is one of the more uncomfortable experiences, and I can't imagine 40lbs worth of gear on your back.

I ride to and from work sometimes and I've ridden with a backpack and with everything in a top case, and I can tell you the experience/fun factor of not having a backpack is night and day.

Believe me, you want to strap it down or place it in a top case/saddle bag.

·
Premium Member
1,141 Posts
You want to secure it to the motorcycle somehow. Riding with a backpack is one of the more uncomfortable experiences, and I can't imagine 40lbs worth of gear on your back.

I ride to and from work sometimes and I've ridden with a backpack and with everything in a top case, and I can tell you the experience/fun factor of not having a backpack is night and day.