Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I have bought a 2008 vn900 classic as a project bike and have been working though getting the bike to start And done the following:
Checked all the connectors and they are fine
Replaced the ecu and now the ign fuse has stopped blowing and the bike attempts to start
Replaced the spark plugs as I am not sure when the bike was last serviced.

Now the bike is trying to start but is just not getting there, was back firing through the carb and exhaust. So I have looked over it again and found this connector under the seat. I have no idea whether it should be connected to something, but to me looks like there should be some sort of sensor attached....? I am new to these bikes so have no clue so apologies if these are stupid questions. Is someone able to identify what it is and if it should be connected to something. And also any suggestions on how to get my bike started so I can enjoying it.

Thanks in advance.

Paul

Attachments

·
Registered
48 Posts
I think that connector is for diagnosing and or a gear indicator if you want it to be.
Almost sounds as timing might be off or bad timing sensor.

·
Registered
314 Posts
I just had my seat off and installing the ECU, I wish I could say that connector looked familiar, but I can't. It's obviously capped so I would agree that it's likely a diagnostic connector.

·
Registered
709 Posts
I have a vague recollection that connector might go to the ignition switch, but I could be wrong. I do know a service manual with wiring diagrams would be very helpful here, if you look closely and follow the wire colors.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the replies, really appreciate it. From what others have said on other forums, it sounds like it is a connector for gear changing.