Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
134 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
My front brake oil looked like French pressed coffee so I decided to bleed it in order to replace it with new brake fluid. I've never done this before but I have seen others do it. I thought I knew what I was doing and my front brake lever is now soft. I started by opening the nipple on the caliper. I then pressed the brake lever to release some brake fluid. A squirt of oil shot out of the nipple. While keeping the lever closed in, I then closed the nipple. I pumped the brake lever a few times and then repeated the process. I had fresh brake fluid readily available and tried to avoid letting the reservoir being exposed to air, but I believe I did.

I attempted to pump the brake a few times while the nipple was closed and then opening the nipple while the brake lever was held in. Only a sad stream of oil falls out as opposed to a straight squirt. I tried this a couple of times and still cannot get the lever to firm up with pressure. Also, I do not see the air bubble floating up in the reservoir as I pump the lever although the new brake oil has been flowing through the nipple. Nothing appears to happen to the oil when I apply the brake. What am I doing wrong??

·
Lifetime Premium Bike Of The Fall Winner 2017
2,898 Posts
I attached a 1/4 in clear tube to the nipple. took the cover off the reservoir. I opened the nipple and started pumping the brake and kept filling the reservoir until clear fluid and no bubbles came out then I locked down the nipple. I did the same to all the nipples. Brakes stop on a dime. I did buy the large bottle of fluid to make sure I had enough to put clean fluid in all the lines.

·
Registered
213 Posts
a brake bleeding vacuum pump IMOP is the best way to go to bleed brakes.

Something like this: http://www.harborfreight.com/automo.../brake-bleeder-and-vacuum-pump-kit-69328.html