Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just sold my Vulcan S 650 after a year of riding because I'm ready for more power, capacity, and comfort for medium to long distance riding and occasional rural freeway commuting. I'd also like to bring my lady along more often so two-up capability and comfort is important. I am a college student so my budget is very limited, but between the proceeds from selling my 650 and my savings I have a $5000 budget. There are plenty of decent used Vulcans in my area in that price range, and if I'm willing to drive a couple hundred miles there are even a couple of Nomad 1700s I can afford. The Nomad 1700 looks perfect for what I'm looking for with the 6th gear and cruise control, but aside from the two that I've seen that are a few hours away, there are none for sale near me. How does the 1700 Nomad stack up to the 1600 nomad or the 2000? Those are MUCH easier to find at affordable prices around here. Also, I'm open to suggestions of other similar big twins as long as they're Japanese, watercooled, and fuel injected.

·
Super Moderator
3,867 Posts
Too bad this isn’t closer to you. Real nice low mileage bike.

·
Registered
350 Posts
OK, the 2000 I would not get....Plenty powerfuf....too damn heavy, I'd only get one if the price was really low, and stick on a rear trike kit.... I've ridden big, powerful bikes my whole life, my dad built a old indian flathead that I rode all thru high school, Started on a mini-bike when I was 10, 12 my dad bought me a Honda CB-90, 14 a Honda SL-175, you get the picture.....
The 1700's are pretty much trouble free....and they really don't get broke in till about 18-20K on the miles.
The 1600 Nomad is a great machine, get one with the least amount of miles, clean, and take her for a kinda long ride to see if your comfortable on it....

·
Registered
Lawn mower
173 Posts