Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Guys...the Vulcan is my 1st bike and has been great. To those with any interest the BMW R1200RT is one amazing machine. Absolutely (and I have some experience with this) NO buffeting. The windshield is adjustable on the go. It felt rock stable at 90mph. The weight, balance is amazing. It is my understanding that it is the world's #1 police bike. I can see why.

·
Premium Member
159 Posts
I recently road a Kawasaki 1400 GTR ABS - I believe its called a Concours 14 in the US.
This thing is awesome I just want one.

·
Registered
1,131 Posts
BMW's are nice motorcycles. They handle well, go fast, and are reasonably comfortable. However, I don't believe their reliability is on a par with the Vulcans. And before plunking down $20 large on the RT, be aware that they are very expensive to own. Maintenance is very costly, and in order to not have your warranty voided by BMW, you must bring the bike in for its service intervals--about every 3000 to 5000 miles. And be prepared to leave anywhere between $300 to $600 at the dealer when you pick it up. Another thing to consider is the relative lack of dealer network. Not like the Japanese dealerships which are everywhere. And the cost of accessories will make you gasp and choke!! Jus' sayin'

OTOH, while I hated the R1150RT I had for a short time, I found that it was a good-looking bike, was comfortable and was a good handler. Aside from that, it felt lacking in power and the engine was rough--lots of high frequency vibrations--and the gearing was all wrong for any in-town riding. It was fine in 6th gear out on the highway above 65 mph. But 6th was so high there wasn't any feeling of power.