Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So i'm looking to install a bat wing fairing on my VN1600 classic. Are there any watts limit ( I found some 6x9 800 watt speakers for a very reasonable price), they are 3 way speakers. Now does it matter if the speakers are 2,3 or 4 ways? I will NOT be installing an amp will that be a game changer? Would I need to stick with a certain wattage since I'm not installing an amp? I'm new to this and dont want to screw anything up. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
81 Posts
Hi
There are no watt limits (within praktical range).
The power specs on speakers are given in many, many different ways and it is very hard to compare between speakers. And most are marketing BS. I have a reasonable powerful setup in my living room from a store dedicated to hifi enthusiats. The are rated at 100W. And we use them for throwing parties. I guarantee you that the ones you have found cannot do that. That is not to say that the ones you have found are bad, but to make you see that often the specs are misleading. And to be honest: if they say 800W at a reasonable price.. My guess is that they are not the best. Again, they may be perfect for you.
And the power spec should be a measure of ho much they can handle. They dont "produce" the power themselves. The power comes the amp. You have an amp in the head unit already. What you mean is, that you wont buy an external amp. Amp have many of the same issues with ratings as speakers do.
If it was me, i would find a set of speakers from a brand name.
2, 3 and 4 ways tells you how many drive units (bass, midrange and tweeter for instance) the speaker are fitted with. More drives could give some advantages because each unit only focus on a narrower frequence range. My guess is that it is purely theoretical in a batwing on the highway. For simplicity sake i would find a 2 or 3 way speaker.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3