Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Guys do we need to oil out BAK filters?? I know some filters need the K N oil added to them. But I don't see it on the filter anywhere. Thanks

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
BAK leaking oil

I have read a lot about the BAK starting to leak oil...but I have mostly read it about yamahas..do we have this problem on the 900?

·
Registered
347 Posts
It depends on who made the filter. You need to search on the 'net for the manufacturer of the intake/filter media and go from there.

I'm no expert on these things, but from what I understand the "shorthand" for the Barons Big Air Kit = BAK.

So, if you actually have a Barons Big Air Kit, then the filter media is reusable, at least according to Barons, if you still have the original Barons filter media. That means it can be cleaned and prepared much like a typical K&N type filter.

Loads of other manufacturers make intakes - Cobra, Vance & Hines, Arlen Ness etc. They "might" all be affectionately known as BAK, but they all have their own "names" - Powerflow, hypercharger, etc.

On the other hand, I may be way out to lunch here...E&OE.

·
Registered
347 Posts
Hmmm, its me again.

The "BAK" does not "leak oil". Oil does not typically come out of the intakes on an internal combustion engine.

What you might be referring to is the connection from the crankcase to the intake - that hose, lets call it the positive crankcase ventilation system (or perhaps the crankcase breather hose), is under negative pressure from the vacuum in the intake, and is sucking oil-laden air out of the crankcase, and sucking it into the intake system via that hose (the one connected to the back of the intake system).