Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
189 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It is a mapping program which converts Google Map custom routes into Tom Tom Itinerary files.

It is free and I have been using it for a few months. I understand it previously was named Google-Tom Tom

Anyway, It has just stopped working on the import from website option. I thought maybe it was something with my computer but have now tried it on three computers, all previously working seamlessly.

Any ideas on what is going on or when a fix will be available?

·
Premium Member
775 Posts
Google changes API and apps like that stop working.

iPhone + Google Maps + offline GPS app. Why use TomTom?

·
Registered
7,620 Posts
In my experience, once loaded, Google maps will work fine without a cell signal (the app does change, but it's worked every time I've tried it). You need a cell signal in the beginning to load the route; but it'll still give you accurate turn-by-turn without a signal! You will eventually lose the map (so it'll be a blue line on a grey backgroud); but it'll still accurately tell you when the next turn is, etc. Obviously, it won't be able to recalculate.

An offline map app is a great choice, too!

·
Premium Member
775 Posts
@Romans5.8 is correct.
Google Maps app get's all it's required information at the time when you request directions. The amount of information is very small, and will come through even feeble network connection. After that it does not use the cell network much. Google Maps is the most accurate mapping resource out-there. No one can compete with the might of the search giant when it comes to maps. Recently they have acquired Waze and now pour crowd-sourcing data in to their maps. Tom-Tom can't compete with that.

You might have heard that when Apple released Apple Maps everyone complained about how bad they were, and how poor the directions were. Guess what data Apple Maps is using. Right Tom-Tom data.