Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
New rider with an '03 1600 Classic. Bike has an OEM windshield on it.
I purchased an HJC IS-MAX BT modular helmet. Fit is perfect for me but at speeds over around 60mph there is a buffeting vibration that is distracting to say the least. Almost affects vision until I get used to it. Goes away if I lower my head angle and effectively tuck in behind the windshield. That too is not that comfortable for more than a few minutes.
Helmet is fairly quiet I guess (not much experience with other helmets) and I like the modular design and full face feature but ........... sure would like a helmet that doesn't buffet this bad. Suggestions?

·
Registered
4,477 Posts
It sounds more like a windshield issue than a helmet. Is your windshield easilly removeable? You might try a comparison with and without. I'm no expert on windshield height so maybe someone else here can pipe in with a appropriate height suggestion.

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the suggestion but (and there is no way you would ever know this) this is Love Bug season here and there is no way that windshield is coming off!!!
To give you an idea of height of the windshield - I can see over the windshield in my normal seated position. Part of my face and helmet is below it and part above it. If I tuck in below it I can minimize the issue.

·
Registered
684 Posts
It is likely not the helmet or windshield - you need to install windshield lowers to divert the air coming up around the sides of the gas tank and up under your helmet. To check this, move one of your hands (held flat) out over the side of the tank while riding - if you find this changes the buffeting then the lowers will make a huge difference.

·
Registered
7,620 Posts
This is a common issue. The answer is windshield lowers.