Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,

Newbie here. Returning to biking(age 60) after a 12 year haitus.

I recently bought a 2009 Classic LT and already have changed out the stock seat to a mustang seat and added an air hawk seat cushion for the wife.

My question is this. I heard that better octane is better so I've been running 90+ octane. My local dealer says just run 87 ocatane.

Which is best?

What say you all?

Take care.

:)

·
Registered
295 Posts
You'll get all kinds of answers to this question. Premium is not any "better" than other grades of gasoline. Use what the owner's manual says to use. Kawasaki engineered the bike and they know more about it than any of us. If you notice pinging then go up a grade in octane and see if that helps, otherwise you're wasting your money. I use 87 in my '09 900 Custom and have noticed no problems whatsoever.

·
Registered
1,223 Posts
Just after getting my 900 Custom i went on a cross-country trip. I found that it didn't like 85 octane, but 87, 89, or 90 didn't seem to make any noticable difference (to me). I routinely run 87 octane now.

·
Registered
1,554 Posts
You'll get all kinds of answers to this question. Premium is not any "better" than other grades of gasoline. Use what the owner's manual says to use. Kawasaki engineered the bike and they know more about it than any of us. If you notice pinging then go up a grade in octane and see if that helps, otherwise you're wasting your money. I use 87 in my '09 900 Custom and have noticed no problems whatsoever.
'09 MOM must read differently than the '08, as I could swear mine says to use 91+. As you said, use what the MOM says, as they engineered the bike...

·
Registered
657 Posts