Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey everybody. This is the first and only motorcycle I've ever owned. I bought it for pretty cheap as a starter bike. I have no experience working on bikes, but I use to work in a steel shop back in my college days, so I have some metal fabrication experience (not an expert by any means).

Anyway, after a few months riding and getting the hang of it a little, I decided to take a shot at customizing the bike a bit.

The idea was to do everything myself and do it about as cheaply as possible. I used cheap tools i already had, or could buy from harbor freight, walmart, etc. I tried to make everything myself where possible. I scoured craigslist for materials

Some of what I tried worked pretty good. A lot of stuff I tried didnt. I'm almost finished with it, (At least I think I am. It's finally rideable at least.) so I wanted to post a few pictures, maybe get some feedback from those of you with more experience, maybe share what I learned with anyone else that might be interested.

I didn't do a good job of taking pictures all along the way, but I got some of the major aspects of what I did. I'll post some better "completed" pictures once I'm actually done.

Attachments

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
As silly as this seems, I forgot to take a picture of the bike before I started messing with it. But this is pretty much exactly what the bike looked like. It was completely stock and had a pretty good size creased dent on the left side of the tank from the previous owner laying it down.

Attachments

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Here is the dent in the tank and my hilariously failed attempt to pull the dent out. I tried using JB weld and some bolts I had laying around to pull the dents out. It didn't work. Not even close. I even let the jb welded bolts cure for over a week. They snapped off immediately when I started trying to pull the dent.