Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2006 750.
The pros are: It runs good and, overall, it’s been a very reliable bike. I can put it on the interstate and run 75 miles per hour for hours. I put 6500 miles on it over the past 12 months (this is my first year with the bike). It handles very well in the city, light enough to be very maneuverable and it’s very quick. It had a smaller windshield when I bought it. I put a larger windshield on it and it’s very good at blocking the wind.
The cons are: I don’t think I get the mileage that many of you describe, I think I’m more in the upper 30s to lower 40s mpg. I usually fill my tank after about 120 miles. If I’m on the interstate for very long I’m filling up after 80 to 90 miles. I had to replace the stator after about 6000 miles to the tune of $800. I don’t think the dealership did its best work when they replaced the stator. My coolant leak was worse afterwards and I hear noises in the engine that I didn’t hear before. I also found that they didn’t get the bolt that’s holding the gas tank torqued very well. I fixed that – and the coolant leak - myself.
Not really a con but the bike revs high at high speeds and I find myself wishing for 6th gear. I was pretty tickled when I read all of the comments here and on other sites of people talking about the same thing.
I like my bike. I’m planning several Iowa trips – my grandkids live there – for this year. I’m wanting to take a trip out west and I’m sure the 750 will do it. I do plan to avoid the interstates for the most part.