Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi to all,

Newbie here. Looking for advice... I pulled my carbs, cleaned them, re-installed them. Also changed oil/filter, put new gas in the tank, & new spark plugs. Bike had been sitting for almost three years. When I tried to start for first time:

1) Turned petcock to Prime (by the way, do I just leave it on Prime or turn it to on position after a certain amount of time?);

2) Turned key "ON" & turned "ON" kill switch;

3) Turned Choke to full;

4) Pressed ignition button;

5) But engine won't kick in... seems like it is wanting to but couldn't get it to turn over.

6) Tried pressing ignition while turning throttle, but still the same.

7) And now I drained the battery, so waiting to recharge it to try again.

Until then, what am I doing wrong (I am sure many things. smile.)... Did I by chance flood the carbs? Is there a procedure of steps to follow when first starting a bike after cleaning carbs?

Help! And Thank you.

·
Registered
255 Posts
I frequently service EX500 carbs. Carbs sitting dormant for 3 years will require vigorous, aggressive procedures.

All cleaning/spraying with chemicals performed with the diaphragms and floats/needles removed ! Better yet, BARE carb bodies, ALL internals removed.

The use of strong compressed air to clear a clogged pilot system is mandatory.

Did you remove the pilot jets, clear them and verify they are clear?

Did your remove the pilot screws?

With both pilot jets and screws (mind the spring, washer and tiny oring) removed, spray carb cleaner in both those openings, AND the pilot air correction jet in the intake bell......blow compressed air between and back and forth these openings (which comprise the bulk of the pilot system)