Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I finally got the my "new" Vulcan 900 Classic inspected and licensed and haven't driven my car since.

I had to leave it at the shop since I forgot the title for the inspection, Came back the next day with the Title and the salesman said he almost sold my bike until the mechanic explained to him it wasn't for sale. When I came back a couple of days later to pick it up, after getting the tag, I was told 4 more individuals were interested in buying it. And this is from a place that had over 30 used bikes for sale, everything from crotch rockets to full size Harleys. They had several that were in the same price range as what they would have sold mine for, (which was $1300 more than I paid), so I'm feeling pretty good about my purchase.

I'm a commercially rated pilot. I got into flying because it was something I alway wanted to do and would prefer to fly everyday rather than do just about anything else. Some people say it is the most fun you can have outside of the bedroom, other's argue that it is better than anything, including what happens in the bedroom. However, if I just want to jump in a plane and go fly around for fun, I'm looking at $130/hr. With this in mind, I now have a cheaper alternative. I don't think it will replace flying around, but riding to the airport, flying around for a few hours, (this time someone else was paying for it), then getting to ride my Vulcan back home, not sure the day could get any better.

So after a week of riding, what I have learned -
50 deg morning temps means my next purchase will be winter riding gloves.
Loose pant legs means the wind can blow them up to the knees, which makes an early morning ride to work that much colder.
Low beam headlight is worthless
Just as others have reported, my speedometer reads 5mph too slow (according to my gps)