Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So i just picked up this bike for my wife with leaky carb issues according to the prev owner. .

The bike had sat for years until a couple months ago.

I pulled carb float bowls. Found a peice of small debris/sand stuck to one of the float needles.

Got it put back together less the air box for trial and error sake.

Bike starts up and idles pretty good.
A little smoke from the right hand side.
And if your careful can get it to rev to maybe 3 or 4k rpms
But if you jusy twist the throttle it bogs up and down and dies off. . .

Im a novice mechanis when it comes to bikes but, have tenure working on all sorts of gas motors.
Ive ordered a factory svc manual from.ebay.. in the mean time im looking for ideas.

Thanks in advance..

Brian
09 vulcan 500 ltd

·
Registered
2,075 Posts
Welcome Brian.

The Vulcan 500LTD will not run correctly without its complete airbox system in place.

How does the air filter look? If it is deteriorating it will need to be replaced.

·
Registered
239 Posts
The bike had sat for years until a couple months ago.
Bike starts up and idles pretty good.
And if your careful can get it to rev to maybe 3 or 4k rpms
But if you jusy twist the throttle it bogs up and down and dies off. . .

Ive ordered a factory svc manual from.ebay.. in the mean time im looking for ideas.
likely your carbs will require more extensive disassembly, inspection and cleaning

amazing it starts and idles (sat for years) as the pilot circuit is usually the first to clog

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks ducatiman. From my experience with auto carbs it feels like there is def still something clogged.

While the airbox was off annd bike was running i peeked into the carb throats.. and the slides wefe bouncing erratically after raising up only 1/4 inch.

I went ahead and ordered slide diaphragms because they are so old. .