Full VS Half helmet? - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 33 (permalink) Old 07-08-2012, 07:59 AM Thread Starter
BOTM Winner, March 2013

Garage
Full VS Half helmet?

Hi, everyone.
I have half helmet and open face one. What I would like to know is if full helmet must have or I am good to go? Can anyone give me quick cons and pros half vs full. I am new to motorcycles and usually drive local roads with little bit freeways here and there. I live in GA where is summer is pretty hot. Thank you
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 33 (permalink) Old 07-08-2012, 08:05 AM
Lifetime Premium

Greetings, WhiteWi-
Helmet style is personal preference; with that being said, however, the more coverage, the more protection.

When I'm riding alone, I use a half helmet; when with my S.O., I use a 3/4 because of the comm headset inside of it.

Sometimes when I ride alone, I'll still wear the 3/4 because it greatly reduces wind noise. I've been contemplating getting a full-face or modular for the spring and fall riding, simply because of the "warmth" factor.

Telly
2011 Voyager 1700 ABS
Patriot Guard Rider
iPod Adapter
OEM Comms
Kury ISO Grips
Kewl Metal Helmet Locks
Racn' Ray's Throttle Mod
Kury Longhorn Offset Dually Highway Pegs
Cobra Luggage Rack
Cobra Saddlebag Lid Guards
Stebel Compact Nautilus Horn
Clearview Tinted 17" Shield
Sagebrush Designs Tank Bib
Marvellas Passenger Pegs
post #3 of 33 (permalink) Old 07-08-2012, 05:26 PM

Pretty simple really. The more helmet you have the better it will protect you. I like a full face for cold weather, or anytime I'm likely to encounter lots of bugs or flying rocks with no windshield, read "freeway". I've known guys that rack up a TON of miles and have not ever owned a REAL helmet, only those novelty helmets with a fake "DOT" sticker on them. It all comes down to personal choice.

post #4 of 33 (permalink) Old 07-08-2012, 11:19 PM
Top Contributor