Helmet help - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-07-2012, 01:32 AM Thread Starter

Helmet help

I'm a noob. I borrowed a friend's helmet. Now I'm torn between spending more on a nice helmet and use it til it's not safe anymore, or getting a less expensive (that doesn't mean less safe) helmet for the summer while I practice at slower speeds. Then get the nicer one when I'm more confident at higher speeds (maybe next summer while looking out for deals this fall), using the first helmet for passengers someday. What do you think?

I previously posted this in the wrong forum, sorry for the double post.

'05 Vulcan 500
"It's good to be important... but more important to be good."
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-07-2012, 06:55 AM
Top Contributor

If it's DOT approved use it. Regardless of $ the standard is the standard. Now cosmetics are our option. Revolvers, shields, graphics, bluetooth all add cost without changing the compliance to the standard. Just never ride without it. Enjoy and Ride Safe!

post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-07-2012, 08:12 AM
JtC
Top Contributor

Garage
Bear's got it right. A $70 dollar helmet saved my life. I've got a $90 bell FF that is very nice, comfy, and DOT and I've got a Bell Mag 8 3/4 that is also very nice (old school look) DOT and cost only $50.

2010 V2K Classic LT aka "Mr. Spock"
2007 Suzuki S83 -fast, fun, goodbye, good riddance
2005 Nomad R.I.P. Totaled in '07

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 1 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CMA#158186
"Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is liberty." -2 Corinthians 3:17

post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-07-2012, 12:31 PM
Top Contributor

Garage
I use a "SKULL KRUSH" carbon fiber shorty lid and love it ! DOT KAN KMA ! I have a full selection of other DOT helmets and they are too heavy and uncomfortable, I don't use them.