Anyone wear leather? - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 89 (permalink) Old 05-08-2012, 03:18 PM Thread Starter

Anyone wear leather?

Or is that mainly a Harley thing? I wear leather gloves and boots, but I have a Tourmaster jacket. I was thinking of switching to a leather jacket and maybe even pick up some chaps, but I started thinking about it and I can't remember the last time I saw someone wearing a leather jacket and chaps and NOT riding a Harley. Do you guys wear leather jackets or chaps?

Cobra Fi2000 PowrPro
Rear Scootworks OD Pulley
Debaffled stock exhaust
Mustang Wide Touring Seat

USMC
Iraqi Freedom Veteran
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 89 (permalink) Old 05-08-2012, 03:20 PM
Bike Of The Year Winner, 2012

Garage
Sometimes, if the misses if feeling up to it, I'll put on some leather.
post #3 of 89 (permalink) Old 05-08-2012, 03:25 PM
Lifetime Premium

Year/Make/Model: 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 LTD; 1996 Kawasaki ZX9R Ninja; 1993 Kawasaki ZR-1100 (now 1322 cc)
Displacement/CC's: 2000 cc; 900 cc; 1322 cc
I have chaps but have rarely worn them.

I do wear leather, almost always. I have mostly leather for jackets (I have several jackets), and have leather jean pants made by Vanson, and I have a custom made two piece leather suit that I have occasionally worn on my cruiser, although it is more suitable for my sport bike.

I wear leather with armor in the shoulders and elbows and back. Ventilation is a must. One jacket I own has fabric inserts on the insides of the sleeves and perforation in the front and exhaust at the rear. Another jacket has a zip down vent that goes top to bottom on right and left on the front and ventilation out the back (expansion joints going top to bottom on each side). I own a Joe Rocket Phoenix mesh jacket to wear on real hot days, but if I am touring I only wear leather, usually the perforated jacket, and I take a rain coat to put over it if it gets cold or rainy.