What gear do you wear and why? - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-28-2015, 10:26 AM Thread Starter
Lifetime Premium

What gear do you wear and why?

I started riding again about two years ago after riding a couple years back in the late 70's. I've learned and thought a lot about gear over the last couple years. Most seem to agree the reasons for wearing gear are, 1) protection, 2) comfort from the elements. I guess for some it can "look cool" also. Anyway, I've had a really hard time deciding what gear to wear with a few false starts. The issue for me is to balance cost, comfort, and level of protection. Here's what I use now and why. I'd be curious to know what you other folks use.

Fullface modular GMAX helmet - need modular to get it on over glasses
Olympia full gauntlet gloves - heavier than wrist length but more protection
Tour Master Response WP boots - low rise, comfortable, may get full height
Olympia Renegade mesh jacket - cool, reasonable armor, good quality
Slider Kevlar jeans - minimal lower protection
Dianese knee guards under pants - reasonable knee/shin protection
Forcefield chest guard - hope to avoid cracked ribs, etc.

Most of this stuff I got right off but added the knee guards and chest protector recently. Also on order is Klim riding shorts for some minimal hip/tail bone protection. I've thought seriously about an Areostich Roadcrafter with full armor. Even visited their store in Duluth, MN last year while on a trip. They are bulky and wasn't ready to spend that much but I may yet go that route. But, it would probably provide better overall protection and would be faster on and off. It would likely be hotter also.

What works for you?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-28-2015, 10:43 AM
Top Contributor

AFX full face helmt FX-90. Can be obtained for +-75 bucks and fits my head well.