Passenger helmet hitting back of mine - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 06-01-2014, 05:09 PM Thread Starter

Passenger helmet hitting back of mine

Hi All,

So let me start off by saying I'm new to the cruiser world. I sold my sportbike for a vn900 largely because I wanted something more comfortable for me and a passenger.

Heres my issue: My girlfriend and I both wear full-face helmets because drivers in MA are idiots and we're not fond of jaw-reconstruction surgery. Her helmet always hits mine over bumps, and it's becoming really annoying for both of us (even when she looking over my shoulder).

I tried telling her to sit more upright/a little further back but she claims she already is. She does, however, hold me around the waste.

Has anyone else had this problem? Any advice? Would a passenger backrest solve this?

Thanks guys!

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 28 (permalink) Old 06-01-2014, 05:32 PM
Top Contributor

Year/Make/Model: 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500L Nomad FI
Displacement/CC's: 1500cc
Color: Burgundy/silver
Garage
A passenger backrest would not automatically solve it, no. She needs to be comfortable using it in order for it to have any benefit. When I was getting used to riding two up, my shifts weren't that good and I'd get a thunk whenver up- or downshifting, nevermind a hard braking situation.

The both of you getting used to the new scoot will help with this problem. Yes, it's annoying, but tell her to relax and that she won't slide off (be sure to guarantee this, it'd be awkward turtles all over if she did). If it doesn't get better, a backrest might be the best option, but again, she'd need to be comfortable being that far back.

I'm sure you'll find a solution, and once you do, the REAL fun can begin.
post #3 of 28 (permalink) Old 06-01-2014, 06:16 PM Thread Starter