Running on 1 cylinder - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-07-2019, 07:57 PM Thread Starter

Running on 1 cylinder

Hey guys. First actual post here. I just got my bike about 2 months ago. Dealership sold it as is. It was my first bike. It runs. I can ride it. But it has some probably pretty severe issues. Mainly that it doesn’t have the power it should which could be pretty messy as a safety issue. I’m no mechanic but I know that the only thing that has temporarily fixed it is pulling the plugs off just a hair. But I can’t ride that way because the bike rattles them all the way off. Is it possible that it just needs new spark plugs? I literally haven’t even checked them, I don’t have the tools. If you think otherwise what would you suggest checking. I am halfway competent as a machinist I use tools, but I only have a consumers understanding of engines, let alone bikes engines if any different at all.

Thanks for any help, and again thanks for having me on the forum
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-07-2019, 08:41 PM
Top Contributor

Year/Make/Model: 2006
Displacement/CC's: 750
Color: Red/black
Garage
See if they have the correct gap. If they need changing shell out a few more bucks and get Iridium units, P/N: DPR7EIX-9.

The dealership sold as is, huh? I'd also get a can of SeaFoam (damn near all auto parts store has it), and put some in the tank as per directions on the can. This stuff will go a long way towards cleaning up any gunk in the fuel system.

So what is it doing?: Sputtering, flat at a given rpm, cold front pipe, doesn't want to go above a certain rpm?

Here are but a few of the parts store where you can get stuff:

https://www.ronayers.com/

https://www.cheapcycleparts.com/oemp...vn750a6f-parts

Chris Cochran
Retired USAF '74 to '95 AMMO
Engine guard with highway pegs
Luggage rack
GPS on RAM handlebar mount
MCCTs replaced ACCTs
Iridium plugs: DPR7EIX-9