New member, Va - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-10-2011, 06:20 PM Thread Starter

New member, Va

Hello everyone, new guy here. A little background on me: I started riding in Sept 2005 on my 2006 ZZR600, which I still own and enjoy, and I've recently decided that I want a cruiser since I've been commuting on my sportbike, which isn't as comfy or enjoyable as it could be. Basically the bike is better suited for the track, I keep getting myself in trouble on it, and with my growing lack of interest riding a sportbike on the street, I want a cruiser. Since I started on Kawasaki, I'd prefer to stick with it. I'm a big fan of choppers and bikes of that sort: fat rear wheel, big front wheel, loud lopey idle, and all that jazz. I figured I'd join up and learn about the life on a cruiser before I make an uninformed decision when the time comes to get one. I bought my ZZR in ignorance, and though I still love it, I don't want to repeat that.

I've ridden only one cruiser, a buddy's 06 Boulevard M109R. That bike has just about everything I'm looking for in a cruiser except the fact it's a Suzuki, plus the fact his aftermarket pipes sound like shit (hoping that's a cheap pipe thing and not a metric cruiser issue--not really a fan of Harley's). Being that I've put a lot of wrench time in my sportbike, it's not beyond me to get a Vulcan and make it something different. Actually I quite enjoy not having the same bike as everyone else, plus I've recently gotten into painting and bodywork.

Here are my questions:

How hard is it to get a fat rear wheel, are there swappable solid wheels I can get (not digging wire wheels) without going aftermarket, what's the nicest pipes to go with, and....well I'll search for answers on the other queries I have.

Sorry about the lengthy intro, but thanks for reading. See you all around.

Larry
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-11-2011, 02:39 PM