Help! Throttle kills engine after oil/coolant change and new K&N air filter. - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By glhadiator

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-05-2017, 12:38 PM Thread Starter

Year/Make/Model: 1996 Kawasaki VN800-B1 classic
Displacement/CC's: 805
Color: Green and silver
Garage
Help! Throttle kills engine after oil/coolant change and new K&N air filter.

I'll try to keep it short. I am a young, self taught DIY novice so bare with me.

I recently decided to change the oil, coolant, oil filter and air filter on my VN800 96. I also wanted to take the gas tank off to get a better look at everything. Once I drained my bike of oil and coolant, it sat for 3 days opened up while I waited on my K&N oil filter and K&N air filter.

I ran into a problem with the gas tank. The fuel line was wedged onto the fuel tab (petcock) and was strapped with a zip tie holding the small tear at the top of the hose from expanding. I got it off but couldn't get it back on. I bought 6 inches of larger hose, and looked for a double sided brass barbed fitting with 1 larger and 1 smaller side. I had no luck, but found a plastic one. The tube that the fuel flows through its self was more narrow than I hoped but i gave it a shot.

It seemed to work. No leaks, and engine turned on. As expected, my Vulcan didn't sound or feel the same, and I let it idle until the radiator fan turned on to burp the system and to check my oil/coolant level. I usually don't need choke to start her up, but this time I did, and after 2 idle heat cycles burping the system, I put the radiator cap on, and road my Vulcan around the block. It wasn't easy, It was like playing a game with the bike to keep it from stalling. The next day I start her up and its a little worse. Throttle makes the carburetor backfire and the engine clunk and stall. I feel like I was hurting the bike forcing it through the 3 gears around the block.