Debaffle vs. straight exhaust? - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-28-2017, 09:21 AM Thread Starter

Debaffle vs. straight exhaust?

Hey guys, newbie here and in the early planning stages of building out my bobber. I bought a Vulcan 800 and it has completely bone stock exhaust. I want it to sound like a typical bike with louder exhaust.

So i was looking around online at Cobra, Vance and Hines, etc. but then came across some threads and videos on people removing the baffle.

I ultimately want black exhaust, i will not have much if any chrome on my bike when i am done. So here is my question....

what is the difference in removing the baffle vs. just completely cutting the pipes about halfway back? essentially removing the back end where the baffle/muffler portion of the exhaust?

I was thinking of completely cutting it here, then adding on some black exhaust tips that will be visible and the remainder of the exhaust pipes that are remaining and chrome, will be wrapped in black exhaust tape.

other than the look, is this basically the same thing? debaffle is the same thing as straight pipes?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-28-2017, 09:30 AM

Year/Make/Model: 2001 Vulcan 800 Classic
Displacement/CC's: 800cc
Color: Gray
Garage
My 800 has short/drag pipes, seems like the previous owner just chopped them off about half way and slapped on some slip-on tips. There shouldn't really be much/any difference in removing the baffle vs. cutting the pipes, you maybe lose some resonance by having less tube for sound to bounce around in but I don't know if it would noticeably change the sound. It's gonna be loud as hell either way.

Here's a pic of mine for reference, it's not black but you get the idea.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1494611435959.jpg
Views:	410
Size:	100.4 KB
ID:	196066