Vacuum Line - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums
 9Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-01-2017, 04:42 PM Thread Starter

Year/Make/Model: 2000 Vulcan 800A
Color: Black
Garage
Vacuum Line

Okay so I have my bike put back together after the shop cleaning my tank. So I go to run it today and it runs just fine in Prime positions but when I turn it to On it just bogs down and eventually dies. There is plenty of gas in it. So I figured it might be a vacuum leak so I am taking a look around at the Vacuum Line and notice it goes from the Petcock to the other side of the bike just under the air filter housing. (See Picture) I am not a mechanic and I am new to bikes but from what I have read this doesn't look right. Shouldn't this go to the carb somewhere?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3600.JPG
Views:	672
Size:	65.2 KB
ID:	183577  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-02-2017, 12:09 AM

Year/Make/Model: 2005 Vulcan 800 Classic
Garage
I believe the vacuum line from the petcock goes to the back of the carburetor. I seem to recall that there were only two hoses coming out of the back of my stock airbox when I modified it, and that was for the crank case breather and the EPA stuff. I'm not sure what your hoses go to, but I could assume it is EPA related. California models came with an additional hose from the airbox to an evap canister I believe.
tehnis and Kiddrock24 like this.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-02-2017, 12:19 AM

Just started to write same thing...
Perfect answer, mr. Beans

Only the carb makes vacuum for petcock.
You can see most of pipes in this video.
Kiddrock24 likes this.

Last edited by tehnis; 03-02-2017 at 12:23 AM.

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-02-2017, 04:06 PM Thread Starter

Year/Make/Model: 2000 Vulcan 800A
Color: Black
Garage