Getting to know my 800.... - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-30-2016, 08:30 AM Thread Starter

Getting to know my 800....

not new to motorcycling, per se, but its been 20 years, so maybe I am a newbie again. Just bought my 800, had to immediately put it in the shop to get a chain, carb, tires, etc, and finally got to ride it for a bit yesterday, and I have some observations that Id like to bounce off you guys/girls. It may just be me being neurotic, but Id like a second/third opinion.
first, I have V&H straight shots, came w/out baffles, but I installed new ones. the sound is awesome, but still a bit too loud. I guess I should put the fiberglass wrapping back on. I thought the baffles would reduce the amount of backfires upon throttle release, but i still get a bout 30 or so every time. this seems a lot to me. next is the apparent cutting out (misfires) of the engine ONLY at steady, relatively low rpm speeds, maybe the middle of 3rd gear. about every 6 seconds, it sounds like a cylinder fails to fire. a quick but noticeable cut with a very minor jerk. I have new sparkplugs and the carb is freshly cleaned/rebuilt. not sure this should be happening. or...do twins just sorta.....do that? anyway, any tips or advice you may have from your experience, things I need to check on/look for, please let me know. oh, and any ideas on reasonably priced saddle bags and floorboards? need those next. my legs are short. which brings me to the fwd kickstand. I feel like an oompa loompa every time I reach my leg out to get that thing. [email protected]! ~nrg(dave)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-30-2016, 08:58 AM
Top Contributor

Year/Make/Model: '05
Displacement/CC's: 800
Garage