'09 Vulcan 1700 Classic LT....rear wheel removal? - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 06-29-2012, 01:10 PM Thread Starter

'09 Vulcan 1700 Classic LT....rear wheel removal?

Hi guys. I have an '09 Classic LT that I am once again having to change the rear tire on.

Please understand that I am not a mechanic by any means but am interested in learning to get the rear wheel off myself and taking the wheel in to have the new tire put on. I am tired of having to pay the dealership every 5000 miles to do it.

I am assuming the saddle bag will have to come off. What about the exhaust? Do the mufflers come off or am I going to have to take it loose at the jug? Am I going to have problems re-adjusting the drive belt? Any nightmares in this that I should be aware of?

A step by step would be awesome but I will be happy with any help you can offer.

Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 06-29-2012, 05:05 PM
Top Contributor

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lumpy View Post
Hi guys. I have an '09 Classic LT that I am once again having to change the rear tire on.

Please understand that I am not a mechanic by any means but am interested in learning to get the rear wheel off myself and taking the wheel in to have the new tire put on. I am tired of having to pay the dealership every 5000 miles to do it.

I am assuming the saddle bag will have to come off. What about the exhaust? Do the mufflers come off or am I going to have to take it loose at the jug? Am I going to have problems re-adjusting the drive belt? Any nightmares in this that I should be aware of?

A step by step would be awesome but I will be happy with any help you can offer.Thanks.